Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Smoked Sausage Potato Soup January 11, 2015

Filed under: entertainment,family,food — dragonfly180 @ 1:37 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’m always coming up with or finding great recipes that I try out and then forget about, so I thought I needed to post them somewhere when I really like one. This is one that I came up with after looking over different soup recipes, trying to use up some potatoes I had in the kitchen.

There’s nothing like a warm, thick soup on a cold, rainy day like today. Great comfort food! Here is the recipe for this delicious and hearty soup.

Smoked Sausage Potato Soup
4-5 lbs red potatoes, peeled and cut into large chunks
2 ribs celery (plus I diced the celery greens, which have lots of good flavor!)
2 packages smoked sausage (9 oz packages), cut into 1/4″ thickness
1 block of cream cheese
1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup (26 oz)
1 package dry ranch dressing mix
2 cups water

2015/01/img_6222.jpg

Spray the slow-cooker with oil. Add potatoes, celery, and smoked sausage. Pour in half the cream of mushroom. In the soup can, add ranch seasoning and some of the water. Stir and add to slow-cooker. Add the rest of the water. Cut the cream cheese into chunks and add to the pot. Cook on high for four hours (or low for about six). Stir after an hour to make sure everything is well combined.

Top with shredded cheese and a little fresh ground black pepper. Serve with crackers or cornbread.

2015/01/img_6226.jpg

2015/01/img_6230.jpg

 

Leave a comment