Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Days Gone July 29, 2014

Filed under: raNdOMnesS — dragonfly180 @ 11:50 pm
Tags:

I’m at that odd edge of changing seasons when daydreams of warm summer nights mix with a longing for crisp Autumn days.

Yearnings for the carefree days of my youth have mixed steadily with the memories of college today, all seeming to appear from nowhere. I miss getting ready to go out at 15, wondering what adventures the night would hold, who would appear and play a part, and which moments would forever be forgotten or remembered.

I miss the mixture of thrill and contentment I found walking the halls and courtyards of the old buildings on MSUs campus. I miss being surrounded by genuine curiosity, knowledge, and vibrant youth.

Even the very smells of places from my teenage years and from college have been teasing me today. I spent the last day of a summer bootcamp class at the college gym at lunchtime, and it was so hard to drag myself from it after it was over. I had spent so many fun hours in that gym during my college years. I suppose saying goodbye to that building again brought forth a wistfulness that I hadn’t anticipated.

As I lay here in bed beside my 15 month old and wonder about my own classroom and the beginning of another school year, I couldn’t be further from those old memories. Yet here they are, coming in and going out, keeping me from drifting off into slumber where I’ll awaken to this different season of my life, one in which someday I will probably fondly look back upon wistfully and long to relive for a few more moments.

 

Leave a Reply

