Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Shakeology Experiment Mid-Week 1 Update September 7, 2011

Filed under: food,hEaLtH — dragonfly180 @ 8:08 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Shakeology Day 2

I tried the chocolate shakeology today, and it is freaking awesome tasting! I thought optimum nutrition chocolate supreme casein protein was really yummy, but this even beats that! So today was my second day on it. Last night, I could not sleep for anything. Sometimes I suffer from anxiety, much like a panic attack but not to that extreme. So I lay in bed last night, stressed that my dog was still at the vet’s office and I hadn’t heard anything. Every little sound startled me, and I kept thinking about crazy stuff like someone breaking in or my dog dying and coming back evil like in Pet Cemetery. I mean, seriously crazy anxiety. I got up to go to the bathroom and wondered what I’d do if I rounded the corner, and men in suits were congregating in my living room at 2 a.m. and just looked up at me as I stood there. Peculiar thoughts. So anyway, it was well after 2 a.m. when I fell asleep, and the vet called me at 7 a.m. to tell me that Jake was doing well. I got on up, because I was excited that the doc said I could pick him up Tuesday. I explain all of this, because I was going on less than 5 hours of sleep. I had my shakeology shake at lunch. It was more filling than the greenberry had been the day before, and I actually was full before I even finished it. Yet, I kept snacking this evening, but I think that had more to do with having ‘dieting’ on the mind, which I unconsciously rebel against whenever I feel like I might be depriving myself. So I decided to try to go back to bed for a nap at 12:30 since it was cool and raining. I laid down and had trouble falling asleep. I wasn’t anxious, but I felt alert. I must have slept, because an hour and a half went by in what seemed like 30 minutes or so, but I didn’t feel the least bit groggy when I got up, which sort of confused me and made me feel like I hadn‘t slept. I ALWAYS feel groggy after a nap. And I should have slept 3 or 4 hours going on little sleep, and that seemed odd. I got up and did things around the house, but I was doing everything I could to avoid grading. Well, it is now after 10, and I still feel alert and not tired. I am wondering if it’s a fluke, but we’ll see tomorrow. Also, I am still munching, although it’s not from hunger. I think I’m stress eating. My workday tomorrow should be a true test of the power of this stuff.

Shakeology Day 3

I slept well last night. I slept so well that my alarm clock went off for 20 minutes before my brain even registered that it was going off. It was almost 11:30 when I went to bed, so I was pretty tired this morning. I had Greenberry Shakeology this morning for breakfast. It tasted good, but I was very hungry by lunch. I did notice that I didn’t get the post-lunch sleepy slump I usually get each day. I also noticed I was more alert on my drive home, which is usually when my eyes are trying to close. Something about those backroads. Anyway, by the time I got home and grabbed a quick snack, I could barely keep my eyes open and ended up getting a 15 minute nap before running out the door to job #2.

Shakeology Day 4

I had Chocolate Shakeology again today. Man, I can’t get over how yummy that stuff is! Anyway, I felt very full by the time I had downed it all, and it kept me full until lunch. Problem is, I didn’t get enough sleep AGAIN, and I could barely keep my eyes open today, and we’re talking even before the post-lunch slump! I don’t know if the chocolate makes me less alert or if sleep deprivation this week is just beginning to catch up with me. I think I’ll try chocolate again tomorrow after getting enough sleep tonight (I know it’s possible to get in bed before 11, I just know it!!!) and see how my energy is with this and adequate rest. The chocolate has definitely curbed my appetite today. I am not even at 900 calories, and I really don’t want anything to eat for supper, but I am going to eat anyway. I know that it’s not healthy to eat below 1200. I had a high calorie day yesterday anyway (1700), so it will be fine to come in a bit lower than that tonight.

 

One Response to “Shakeology Experiment Mid-Week 1 Update”

  1. Jo Says:

    I came across you’re blog when searched for Shakeology and sleep issues. Just wondering how you made out with your sleeping issues? I’ve been using Shakeology for three days now and I am having trouble sleeping. It’s like I’m wired and on speed or something. I was getting heart pulpatations today from lack of sleep over the past three days; however, somehow, I still feel alert. It’s weird…like my body is exhausted and my brain is wide awake. Wondering if you sleep problems were related to the shakeology? Thoughts?


Leave a Reply

