Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Babies July 6, 2011

Filed under: family — dragonfly180 @ 8:45 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

With all our friends having babies here lately, Jamie and I have definitely had babies on our mind. We’ve been putting off having a family for a while because we wanted a nice, spacious house and to be settled and doing well financially,  and I wanted him to be closer to retiring from the military before having any little ones. After spending a few hours with a couple of my nieces this past weekend at the Collins Family Reunion, I am really conflicted about whether I want to have girls or boys if I get pregnant. I was sure having a little boy would be the best. Other than breaking bones or partying too much with friends as teenagers, they don’t get into near the trouble that girls can. I was a wild child in my teen years and know all too well the precarious situations I put myself into over and over again. I was one of the more level-headed ones, too! I honestly was very lucky, because I could have ruined my life in several different ways had things gone just a little differently in some of those situations. So the idea of having a girl terrifies me. But my nieces Kira and Emily were so adorable and well-mannered little girls. It may be odd for an adult to say, but hanging out with those little girls actually made the family reunion more enjoyable for me. It’s so much easier to talk to children, I think. I could definitely see having a little girl now, even though I know I’d worry over her 10 times as much as I would a little boy. Of course, it’s God’s decision to decide what I’d have if I got pregnant. I think that either would be great. Of course, I’ve always said I’d rather have twins and just have a big family all at once (and one less pregnancy to go through!), so maybe I could have one of each! :o)

 

One Response to “Babies”

  1. I think little girls and boys are both sweet. I know some of both that need a good spanking but that has a lot to do with the discipline they lack at home. Although I do not believe 100% of a child’s behavior is based on parenting I do believe that the majority of behavior is (during the early years). You and Jamie will have wonderful children regardless of whether you have a boy or girl because y’all will teach them respect, discipline and morals while showering them with love. You can handle either, even when they hit the teen years and do things you don’t want them doing. I, for one, can’t wait for you to be a mommy and have our children play together!

    Also, I do not believe that it is weird that your nieces made the reunion more enjoyable. I have always had more fun at get togethers when little ones are there. Children make life more enjoyable.


Leave a Reply

