Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Music for Your Pace March 25, 2011

Filed under: fitness,hEaLtH,running — dragonfly180 @ 9:14 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Finding upbeat music for your workouts can be difficult sometimes. I’ve recently started teaching a  fitness class which I call Body Blast, and I spent a while coming up with a decent playlist for it to keep the participants motivated. As a runner, I know the benefit of having upbeat music while training or even during a hard race. Jog.fm is a site devoted to letting you know how many beats per minute a song is and gives you lists of songs according to pace. So for instance, say your goal is to run a 10 min mile in training. You plug that in and it gives you songs you can listen to that should help keep your running cadence that fast. If you don’t think you’ll run to the music’s beat, I challenge you to put a good song with a particular beat on and hop on a treadmill. For me, I run right with the beat. Jamie used to sit out in our workshop while I ran when our treadmill was out there, and it was so evident that I was running with the beat that he noticed and even commented on it one night. So this website could be really useful for someone trying to increase their pace or even for the fitness instructor or exerciser who just wants some playlists with a certain beat speed.

Here’s the website: Jog.fm

 

5 Responses to “Music for Your Pace”

  1. Mary Ann Says:

    Cool! Thanks for the link!

  2. I love that you are teaching a fitness class – that’s awesome, girl!

  3. Katrina Says:

    Sad that we don’t live near by so I could join the class. I think we should just move to tomnolen :)


Leave a Reply

