Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Running Collage March 5, 2011

Filed under: aRt,fitness,hEaLtH,running — dragonfly180 @ 4:12 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Last semester I taught Creative Writing to a small class of high school students. One assignment that we did was the “headline poem,” which is where you cut out interesting headlines from newspapers, magazine articles, ads, etc., and manipulate the words to make a poem about whatever topic you choose. This is a really easy way to create poetry, but for some reason, my Creative Writing classes in the past have had a hard time with this, especially getting started on it. So this past fall, I made my own headline poem and created a collage out of it to have as a nice, complete example for them. Now it sits in my spare bedroom beside my treadmill as a bit of motivation if I need it. It reads:

“Why I Love to Run”

Running,

This is my happy hour,

Place of peace.

Breathe in, exhale.

Feel the burn?

Got cramps?

Feel free to sing, wild thing.

Ponytails, crossroads, sunshine,

Sights and sounds of summer.

Bring on the cold.

Grab life on every corner,

Never fade.

It’s all inside,

Eyes on the prize,

Beating my own expectations.

My secret, I sweat like a pig.

I’m a runner.

Ta-da! Wonder found.

What are you hungry for?

A truly natural progression.

If you think there’s a problem,

Turning point, running.

Be ready for anything.

Lose weight,

Chew on this S-L-O-W-L-Y.

Chip away the pounds,

Change a life,

Your life.

Love your heart. (Use it daily.)

Extraordinary love.

Bring home something truly priceless.

Celebrate smart choices!

The best new you has never looked better,

A sexy glow the old-fashioned way.

Recharged mind and body.

Live the life.

author: Cyrena Shows

 

4 Responses to “Running Collage”

  1. Bill (allbw2u...SP) Says:

    I like your collage!! Good motivational reminder….and they are really helpful on those days when you say “I’m too tired, too busy, too sore, too…..”

    In my running “arena” (okay….oversized storage building with a treadmill, bowflex, surround sound, etc), I have a quote from John “The Penguin” Bingham….”Our running shoes are really erasers. Every step erases a memory of a past failure. Every mile brings us closer to a clean slate. Each foot strike rubs away a word, a look, or an event, which led us to believe that success is beyond our grasp.”

    Of course, that is always tempered with Isaiah 40:29, He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless.

    Most days, I can’t do much of anything in my own strength. But the Lord is faithful and He provides strength every day!!

    Hope you are having a wonderful weekend. Best wishes always…..Bill

  2. dragonfly180 Says:

    and one of my favorite quotes from the Bible comes just after that:
    “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew [their] strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; [and] they shall walk, and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31

    i love the Bingham quote. running can definitely be therapeutic in that way but also literally as it makes our bodies healthier and stronger, even reversing bad choices such as lung damage due to smoking (one of my own past failures!).

  3. Wow, I love it. So positive and powerful.

  4. Sarah Starrenburg Says:

    This is fantastic! What a great, creative idea!! Love it:)


Leave a Reply

