Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Spring Grooming February 16, 2011

Filed under: raNdOMnesS — dragonfly180 @ 8:23 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

After more snow than we’ve seen in Mississippi for years, we finally have some beautiful, spring-like weather this week. It’s been between 68 and 75 everyday. For people who are definitely not used to icy roads and slushy snow, this has been a very welcome weather-180.

But with warm weather comes some additional challenges for the females, because out come the sandals, Capri pants, skirts, dresses, and eventually the dreaded bikini. Most women get very relaxed during the winter months, because less skin that shows means less upkeep. We get used to taking the 8 minute shower or slathering on lotion only when the cold weather has parched our skin. When the weather warms up, we have to start shaving daily again and waxing areas we may leave less tended during the cold months. We now have to spend hours buffing, shaping, and painting toenails that haven’t seen the light of day in four months and pulling out the pumice stone and moisturizer to try to get rid of dry skin. Then, enter either the tanning bed or spray tan until warm enough weather for real sun rays. We have to spend 20-30 minutes putting on accelerator and laying under bulbs or we have to spend 20-30 spraying on skin tint (or rubbing in cream if you’re really brave!) and waiting on it to dry. With both the tanning bed and with spray tanning, we must now spend extra time moisturizing everything two to three times a day to maintain our faux golden glow.

Then when hot weather gets here, the real work hits. Not only do we have to do all of the above, but now we have the added pressure of being scrutinized in the most minimal of clothing – the itsy, bitsy, teeny, weeny dreaded bikini. Oh, and all that waxing and/or shaving we’ve done? Well combine that with pool chemicals and sunburn, and now we’ll have to deal with bikini rash and maybe ingrown hairs, too! Man, it’s a lot of work. But year after year, we gals do these extra things to continue to participate in the social feminine customs of our culture as the temps rise. And every year, our own temps rise as we rush to find time for all this extra grooming.

I’m not really complaining. I actually feel more feminine in the warmer months and like to take extra time to feel girly. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not some hairy mammoth in the winter, but I definitely don’t spend as much time on grooming when I know I’ll be covered up most of the time. I was just thinking today about just how much time we women do put into it on a weekly basis when the weather starts getting nice. Time has definitely become a commodity for me these days, so I’m always a little apprehensive when I know my time is going to be consumed by yet something else. But I’ll get into my groove, and it won’t seem so time consuming once I get back used to all the extra grooming. I hear orange is the new hot color this summer, and since I know how horrible I look dressed in the color orange, I may just need to go find me a bottle of orange-shaded O.P.I. nail polish for these toes that are about to be freshly pedicured!

 

Leave a Reply

