Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Music to my Ears! January 10, 2011

Filed under: entertainment,raNdOMnesS — dragonfly180 @ 9:26 pm
Tags: , , , ,

One of my resolutions was to spend time on the things I love. One of those things is music. I got so accustomed during grad school to put my hobbies on the back burner that I have found it hard to pick them back up now. I plan on practicing more with my piano. To hold me to it, I committed to playing the piano in church when the preacher’s wife is out, so now I have to learn some new songs! Also, I just committed to taking violin lessons from Mr. James Hill, who is also over the Rainwater Observatory and Planetarium in French Camp. A prior student of mine who takes piano from Mr. Hill’s wife referred me to him. I am really excited to start. Although I have had my violin for about three years,  I was always reluctant to try to go very far with lessons on my own for fear of learning improper bowing technique or some other problem not easily fixed once learned. Jamie bought me a violin accessory for Christmas that I’d had on my Amazon Wish List for ages, so I thought that while he’s gone, this will be the perfect opportunity to devote some time to that. Not only will I not be taking time away from him while he’s away, but I also won’t be scratching and screeching and driving him crazy for the next several months. Maybe by the time he comes home, I won’t sound so bad playing it!

 

2 Responses to “Music to my Ears!”

  1. Aw, that’s awesome – I am so excited for you!

  2. Bill Says:

    That is so cool. A job fuels the bank account, but music fuels the soul. Have fun, work hard, enjoy.


Leave a Reply

