Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

2011 January 1, 2011

Filed under: raNdOMnesS — dragonfly180 @ 11:13 am
Tags: , , , ,

“As we look into 2011 we look at a block of time. We see 12 months, 52 weeks, 365 days, 8,760 hours, 525,600 minutes, 31,536,000 seconds. And all is a gift from God. We have done nothing to deserve it, earn it, or purchased it. Like the air we breathe, time comes to us as a part of life.” ~ Stephen B. Cloud

As I stand at the edge of a new decade looking into a new year and into my 30’s, I am strangely excited. My hubby says that he can’t get excited about this year, mostly because he’ll be in another country, but I get excited about every year. It affects me the same as it did when a new year would start in school, when everything seemed new and anything was possible. It was the anticipation that I could make the year into what I chose but that there was also the element of mystery in that I didn’t know what lay ahead of me, what blessings and trials would come my way.

2011 is no different. I am almost giddy, not to see one more year gone, which is always bittersweet, but to see a new year dawn before me in which anything is possible. Although I don’t look forward to spending much of the year away from Jamie, I know that I will make the best of my time and live this year as fully as I can.

As for resolutions, in 2011, I resolve to:

  • learn to live on my own – this is a necessity, because I don’t have my daddy here making sure I’m okay every day like I did through the first deployment
  • let Jamie know as much as possible that I love him, support him, and will be here when he gets back – I’ll do this with care packages, letters/emails, making myself totally attentive during his phone calls, and hopefully chatting with him online through Skype or Ventrilo
  • living as healthy a life as I possibly can – this includes eating well even though I’ll have only myself to cook for, exercising regularly, running, lowering my body fat to lower my risk of diseases, keeping the house clean and as stress-free as possible, getting better sleep
  • make time for the things that make me happy – God, family and friends, music, writing, painting, reading
  • take time to learn something new – I just began to learn to knit; I’d also like to learn to play my violin and guitar; I’d like to learn to speak German

I generally like resolutions, because goals help us to break out of our set ways and become more than we thought we could be. For those who don’t resolve to make any changes in their lives because of fear of failure, I leave you with this quote and a motivational video that I love:

“More powerful than the will to win is the courage to begin.”  ~ Anonymous

 

One Response to “2011”

  1. I love your resolutions, girl. ::hugs::


Leave a Reply

