Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Almond Milk December 8, 2010

Filed under: food,hEaLtH — dragonfly180 @ 7:39 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am LOVING almond milk, which is made from ground almonds. I finally bought some the other day when I was at the grocery store, Silk Pure Almond in the Original flavor. First off, it actually tastes really good and doesn’t leave that nasty film in your mouth that dairy milk does. Second, it doesn’t spoil as quickly (a definite plus for when Jamie is gone) so less waste. Third, it has considerably fewer calories than fat free dairy milk (60 calories per cup versus 80 calories per cup of fat free dairy). Although almond milk has 2.5 grams of fat per serving, it’s the good-for-you unsaturated fats. It also has fewer carbs (sugar) than regular milk. It also has no cholesterol, whereas even fat free milk has 5 mg. It also has the antioxidant Vitamin E that regular milk doesn’t have and contains more calcium, too. You can also substitute it cup for cup in place of milk in baking and cooking. Its only drawback, in my opinion, is that almond milk has only 1 gram protein versus 8 grams in dairy milk. But when I’m strength training, I’m taking in whey protein powder anyway, so that shouldn’t be a big deal.

 

2 Responses to “Almond Milk”

  1. […] of cereal quite often because it’s quick, easy, and i love it! :o) as i talked about in an earlier blog post, i’ve stopped drinking cow milk and now drink almond milk. recently, i tried out the […]

  2. Mallory Says:

    Heya. Sorry to trouble you but I ran across your website and discovered you
    happen to be using the exact same theme as me.
    The only problem is on my site, I’m struggling to get the layout looking like yours. Would you mind e-mailing me at: malloryknapp@gawab.com so I can get this figured out. By the way I’ve bookmarked your web
    page: https://dragonfly180.wordpress.com/2010/12/08/almond-milk/ and will be visiting frequently.
    Thanks!!


Leave a Reply

