Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

bodymedia fit November 29, 2010

I am thinking about getting a BodyMedia Fit (formerly GoWear Fit). This is a calorie management device much like the BodyBugg from The Biggest Loser. BodyBugg is actually made by BodyMedia, but the BodyMedia Fit uses different but similar software and also monitors sleep quality. The software that you use with it graphs all sorts of stuff, like how many calories you’ve burned , if you’ve created a calorie deficit, if you met a steps goal for the day, etc. Here’s more info on how it works:

http://www.bodymedia.com/Shop/Learn-More/How-it-works

The basic model, which does not include the display or Bluetooth capability, is nearly $200 (currently $179 on Amazon), and you must pay a monthly fee to use it. 3 months free is usually included in the bundle; at least, it is from Amazon. After that, the monthly fee ranges from $7 to $13 per month depending on how many months you subscribe to at a time. The monthly fee is the biggest drawback, in my opinion. You’ve already paid a high price for the gadget before any monthly fees are added in. Yet, every single person I’ve talked to or read about who uses the BodyBugg or GoWear Fit has seen great success with it. How much money is it worth to finally be able to reach your goals? I guess you have to answer that for yourself to determine if it’s worth it to you.

I have been sitting at the same weight for about 2 years now, give or take slight fluctuations from time to time. It’s kinda ridiculous. I didn’t even lose weight while training for my half marathon! I have 10-15 lbs to go before I’ll be back to my ideal weight and feel like I’ve accomplished what I set out to do. I’ve tracked food daily for months at a time, I’ve run myself to death (remember the 14 miler?!), I’ve strength trained until I’m just about sick of lifting dumbbells, yet I see no progress. I guess that maintaining my weight is a success in itself, but I know that I can lose this last little bit. I’ve just got to break through this plateau.

I wanted this device before my birthday in September, but I was convinced I could do it without the gadget. Well, I haven’t. So at this point, I’m thinking it might be a good idea. I asked Jamie to get me one for Christmas. So we’ll see. If he drags on it, I might buy it with the check I’ll get back from the military for paying for the hotel room when we went to the yellow ribbon event earlier this month. Either way, I’vm pretty much decided that I’ll get one of these by the end of December! :o)

 

4 Responses to “bodymedia fit”

  1. Hopefully this will help you. I’m kind of jealous. I have always wanted a Bodybugg, but the main reason I haven’t is because of the monthly fee.

    • dragonfly180 Says:

      yeah, the monthly fee kinda sucks, but from those i’ve read about or talked to, they usually will use it to initially lose the weight (so however many months that takes) and then use it intermittently as they need help with maintenance or start slipping on activity, so you’re not stuck paying the fee for years. you can pay for one month at a time or 3 or 6 or whatever as you need it.

  2. I’ve heard nothing but good things about the BodyBugg so I’ll be anxious to hear how it works for you.

  3. Christine Says:

    I just ordered mine ;) and let me tell you… if it helps… it is 100% worth a monthly fee. Its one less coffee from a Starbucks or one less glass of wine. I can live without that each month. I’m excited that your also going to try it out!! Lets do it together!!!


Leave a Reply

