Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

14 miles! September 27, 2010

Filed under: fitness,hEaLtH,running — dragonfly180 @ 6:35 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, I had 13 miles planned. I have been having some issues with my right quad for a few weeks. Sometimes it’d feel better, but mostly, it’d just ache while I’d run. I stopped doing any ST on my legs and would just do the arms part of the CLX dvds, if I did them at all. On Tuesday’s run, my quad ached some, and I cut my run short but mostly because it got dark on me. On Thursday’s run, it ached the entire time and I *had* to cut it short. So I let my leg rest the entire weekend and took Monday off from work. I’ve been needing a day off anyway, and the temps were set to stay in the 50’s and 60’s most of the morning, which is unusual for this far down south this early in the Fall. We might have a cool morning, but it’s usually in the 80’s by 9 a.m. Well, this morning, I left the house at 9 a.m. (I slept in for a change!) with the temps still in the upper 50s, and it stayed cool the entire time I was out there. It felt so GOOD! I hit 13 miles at 2:30:32 and kept going to finish out the last mile of my route. I made it to 14 miles at 2:42:37, beyond the half marathon distance! My times were a little slow this morning, but I have to admit that I found myself on several occasions just running along at a very easy pace, enjoying the cool weather, the changing leaves, and whatever song was in my ear. The wind was really pushing against me this morning, too, but it felt so good that I couldn’t be mad about it slowing me down some. And I only ended up with a tiny blister on my pinkie toe this time. I feel like if I can do 13 miles at 2:30 on a leisurely LR, then surely I’ll come in a bit faster on race day. As the date draws nearer (October 9th), I have to admit that I’m starting to question myself, my training, my fate *lol* Everything! I’m most worried that I’ll start out too fast and bonk midway. I know that if I can keep my pace under control, I’ll be okay. But in 5K races, I usually do hit the first mile or so a lot faster than I should and struggle some in the end before speeding up with the finish line in sight. I’m really regretting that I didn’t run a 10K before this distance. Of course, if I had, I figure I might never have taken on a half marathon race! Running a distance at home and in a race are two different things. I wish I could just do this without worrying about a time and just enjoy it as my first go at a half marathon race, but I am so competitive with myself. If I’ve done it X pace before, I should be able to do it again! But it still amazes me that I am running this distance, when this time last year, I could barely get past 6 miles. No matter what happens at that race, I have run the distance already. I am the healthiest I’ve ever been. No one can take that away.

 

2 Responses to “14 miles!”

  1. Katrina Says:

    I am so excited for you!! I saw on FB where you reached your 80 miles for September! I was wanting to comment and then I got side tracked.. which is typical for me :)…. Just wanted you to know I’m thinking of you and can’t wait to hear how you do on Oct 9!!!!

  2. […] out to do. I’ve tracked food daily for months at a time, I’ve run myself to death (remember the 14 miler?!), I’ve strength trained until I’m just about sick of lifting dumbbells, yet I see no […]


Leave a Reply

