Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

birthdays and dreams September 22, 2010

Filed under: raNdOMnesS — dragonfly180 @ 6:32 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

i thought that turning 30 this year would bother me, but it really hasn’t. i joke that i’m in a foul mood about it, but really i’m more in a foul mood about the way work has been going rather than about my impending milestone birthday. maybe because work is so unsatisfactory right now, my 30th birthday is no big deal in comparison. i’ve been so worn out from work and so focused on training for this half marathon that i’ve barely even reflected on my birthday.

i guess that my biggest regret is that i promised myself that i’d work hard and be published by the time i was 30. i let another summer slip by without writing much of anything. i really need to pursue this dream, but i’m always filled with so many excuses. check out this article about excuses:

Excuses for not making ideas happen

i’m posting this more because i need to refer back to these points often, but maybe it’ll help motivate you to kick the most common excuses that hold people back. i wish every day that writing was my career, yet i don’t do anything about it. well, i’ll be 30 for the next 12 months, so maybe i can still accomplish that dream. and i suppose that if all i regret is that one thing, then my life is pretty good. so here i embark on my 30th year on this earth, and my wish is that i find the motivation and creative ability to leave a small but lasting impression through the written word on this world before i leave it.

“Regret for the things we did can be tempered by time; it is regret for the things we did not do that is inconsolable.”~ Sydney Smith

 

3 Responses to “birthdays and dreams”

  1. I’m sorry you haven’t met your goal yet but I know you can do it, girl. I believe in you. ::hugs::

  2. Mary Ann Says:

    Isn’t it amazing how we think this big bad age of 30 is going to tear us down and then it doesn’t even phase us? I did the exact same way. Last year I thought, “I no, next year is going to be hard turning 30”, but this has been one of the best years ever! And my birthday didn’t bother me a bit!

    I can’t wait for you to get published! Don’t give up on your dream and try not to let it bother you too bad that you didn’t get published by the time you turned 30. Sometimes when we put a time limit on ourselves it just makes things worse and we get disappointed for no good reason. Trust me, I’ve been there and learned my lesson. This is going to be your year!

  3. dragonfly180 Says:

    i definitely plan on making this year more productive. thanks for the support!


Leave a Reply

