Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

House Progress Update December 21, 2009

Jamie and I have moved a few furniture items and appliances into the new house. We spent a couple of hours Thursday evening removing wallpaper border. It was surprisingly easy. It just took us a while because there was so much of it. It was in nearly every room and all down the hallway.

In case you ever need to know how to do it, these are the steps:
1. Peel back a piece from top or bottom and yank it off the wall. This will only bring the top layer off (the part that has the design on it), which is what you want.
2. Once that’s gone, you take a water bottle and add about a teaspoonful of fabric softener and fill it up with water. Saturate what’s left on the wall and let it sit for a few minutes.
3. Using a plastic scraper, scrape up and the paper will just fall away.
4. When you are finished with an area, use a wet sponge to wipe away the excess water/fabric softener and the remaining small amount of glue that’s still on the wall.

Caveat: Don’t let the old saturated wallpaper sit on your floor and dry. It still has glue on it and will be a mess to clean up. It’s best to have a plastic bag or something with you and pick it up as it drops.

Today, I painted most of the dining room. This is the color (Autumn Surprise):

I know that it is whoa-dark, but it is beautiful on the wall. We loved Autumn Surprise so much, we’re painting the living room this color also. It makes the house look so warm and cozy. We have white tiled floors and a white hearth, and I’m leaving the doors white. Plus, our rugs will be a muted gold color, so there’ll be plenty of lighter colors in the living room and dining area. The only other dark colors are our couch and chairs, which are garnet with dark wood. The only problem with this color is that I had to put like 3 coats on, and I still need to touch up in a few spots. It took me 5 hours to do one and a half walls. It will be Christmas by the time I finish that living room, if I’m lucky! I’ll post some pics when I’m done.

 

4 Responses to “House Progress Update”

  1. Mary Ann Says:

    I’m gonna try to stop by and help you some this week between everything I have to do.

  2. Katrina Says:

    I LOVE the color!! sooo pretty!!! I haven’t been able to come out your way this week.. but hopefully next week it will calm down some.. I really want to see your house!!!


Leave a Reply

