Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

House Closing November 22, 2009

Filed under: raNdOMnesS — dragonfly180 @ 12:03 pm
Tags: , ,

Jamie and I bought our first house about 6 years ago. We bought very small (about 800 sq. ft.) and very cheap. Our loan was for 15 years, but we threw extra money at it every chance we got, and Jamie did a few years of active duty to help us pay it off in 5 years. As soon as we paid it off, we began looking for a bigger house. We are really sick of living in such a small house; it is driving us crazy. Since we have this house to fall back on if we ever need it, we felt more confident about looking for something bigger and pricier.

We like our quiet neighborhood, and I love that my parents live across the street. I like that the grocery store is 2 minutes away. I love that I can run around town and take different routes for a change of scenery. It’s nice that I live less than 15 minutes from work. Those will be the things I miss most. But we’ve outgrown this house and need a better place to live.

We looked for some houses nearer to where Jamie works. As it is, he has almost an hour’s drive to work each day. Everything we found was too expensive, too small, or tied up with banks and loan companies and such. We considered purchasing land and building a house. We figured that it would cost around $70 per sq. ft. to build, which wasn’t too bad, since we weren’t wanting to build something huge. Then, we tried to find land, and no one wanted to sell less than 10-15 acres (and usually it was more like 80-100). That was going to set us back another $30,000 or more. Jamie has land in the country, but surrounding neighbors make it less than ideal to build on. So somewhat discouraged, we decided to keep looking for a house already built.

To our surprise, we quickly found a larger house in the area that we wanted to buy in. It is about 25 miles from Jamie’s job and about 20 miles from mine. It was set at a fair price and came with a few acres of land. The old couple had inherited a house in town and had not even put their house on the market yet. A friend told us about it, and we went to see it. It is a brick house with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, central H/A, newly remodeled kitchen, and a pretty fireplace. We want to add on another bedroom eventually, but as it is, it is probably over 400 more sq. ft. than what we have now.

The closing date has been set for Dec. 4th. I am so excited to have my new house. What an awesome Christmas present!!! I have so many design/decorative ideas that I want to get started on. If the couple moves out in time, I’ll get my wish of having Christmas in my new house this year!

 

3 Responses to “House Closing”

  1. Mindy Butler Says:

    YEAH!!!!!! I’m sooo excited for you- we just bought our first house ( an 800 sq ft co-op in brooklyn) and it was such an exciting thing! I’m soo happy for you! Post your ideas for decorating it- you can look at my blog (or apartment therapy.com- such great stuff!) I can’t wait to see pictures of it!!!

  2. Jordan Says:

    Congratulations! What a blessing! I’ve been wanting to rent a house, but pet friendly renters are hard to come by in town!

    And you know, I think they are supposed to do the 8,000$ tax rebate for buying a house again next year, so maybe that will fall into place for you too!


Leave a Reply

