Sweet Silver Lining

just watching the clouds…

Tofu September 19, 2009

Filed under: food,hEaLtH — dragonfly180 @ 10:47 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Tofu is soy curd. It is to soy what cheese is to milk. Tofu sounds and looks so nasty and unappetizing, but it really isn’t bad. I don’t mind it at all in egg drop soup. I have been so afraid of it otherwise, though. For one thing, why is it that tofu seems so intimidating to cook? Mostly, it is a fear of the unknown. Tofu was definitely not a food option in my house growing up. I was an adult before I even tried it.

Since my hubby has been having some health problems related to nutrition and has had to cut way back on meat, I decided to give tofu a try. We need our protein. I looked up some great recipes for tofu on www.sparkrecipes.com this afternoon and found so many that I didn’t know which to cook first! I found out that the coolest thing about tofu is that since it doesn’t really have a taste, it takes on whichever flavors you put it with. You can make it sweet, savory, smoky, etc. After saving a long list of tofu recipes to my online cookbook, Jamie and I headed to the grocery store. My hubby really loves lasagna, so I decided to try tofu lasagna.

I bought a block of extra firm tofu from the produce section at Wal-Mart a few days ago (and it was surprisingly cheap!), and I learned online that you need to press the excess water out that they package it in to keep it fresh. So I laid it in a plate on top of paper towels, put paper towels on the top of it, and sat a saucepan on top of it all to kinda press it out. Meanwhile, I boiled my lasagna noodles and rinsed them. Then, I crumbled up the tofu and added it to my pasta sauce. I made several layers of my pasta sauce/tofu mixture, low fat cottage cheese, and lasagna noodles. I topped it off with low fat shredded cheese. I baked it in the oven for 45 minutes at 375 degrees. It was so delicious! The crumbled tofu was about the same consistency as the cottage cheese, so I couldn’t tell that I was even eating tofu, especially since tofu doesn’t really have a taste. tofu lasagna 075

I am so glad I tried cooking tofu. I am excited to try some of these other tofu recipes!

 

2 Responses to “Tofu”

  1. martica Says:

    I also recently started cooking with tofu. I marinade it in a spicy teriyaki sauce and then sautee it with onions and then layer it over a spinach salad with feta cheese.
    MMMMMMMMM good.
    Martica
    http://martica45.wordpress.com

  2. Jordan Says:

    I never knew you had to drain tofu! That makes sense though. I typically have it with homemade miso soup, and I’ve been wanting to try agedashi(sp? fried tofu shell stuffed with veggies). I never really thought of using tofu outside of traditional Japanese dishes. But this seems great! I may try it one Friday soon. Thanks for letting me know about this!

    Also, any advice for people who want to start running? I know I need a good pair of shoes, but what about training? What’s all this about a long run, short run, etc…


Leave a Reply

